REGION BY REGION
(OBLAST BY OBLAST)

Tula

tula - тула

Tula was first mentioned in chronicles in 1146. By the end of the 14th century it was already a sizable town. Today Tula is a highly industrialized city. It is famous for firearms production. The first weapons factory was built in 1712 by the order of Peter the Great and has been kept busy ever since. Hence, Tula's coat of arms contains two crossed swords and two hammers the swords were forged with.

The city's center is taken by the recently restored kremlin. The walls and towers were built in 1514-20.

In the middle of the kremlin grounds stands the 1766 Assumption Cathedral.

2012. Before the restoration.

2015. After the restoration.

2012.

2015.

The decommissioned 1862 Epiphany Cathedral.

The spacious Lenin Square is in front of the kremlin.

The 18-19th century buildings in and around the square lend extra charm to the city's image.

The 1902 Dormition Cathedral.

The 1842 Transfiguration Cathedral.

Besides firearms, Tula is also renowned for special cakes called pryanik which can be translated as an inscribed cake. The pryanik is one of city's symbols.

Lenin is said liked Tula pryaniks.


Leo Tolstoy the world famous Russian writer.

tula oblast - тульская область

yasnaya polyana - ясная поляна

Leo Tolstoy, author of War & Peace and Anna Karenina, was born, lived most of his life and is buried in his estate Yasnaya Polyana 15 km south of central Tula. From the entrance a birch alley leads to the house where Tolstoy lived and worked on his novels.

Tolstoy is buried in the forest not far from the house. The grave has no marks like a cross or a grave stone.  Just a small mound.

kulikovo pole - куликово поле

The Kulikovo Field is located about 130 km south-east of Tula. On September 8, 1380 it was the venue of a very important event of Russian history. The united force of Russian principalities under the leadership of Dmitry Donskoy the Prince of Moscow clashed here with the mighty army of the Golden Horde led by Khan Mamai. The victory of the Russian united force was a big step towards unification of Russian principalities around Moscow that eventually led to the establishment of Russia as a state and gradual liberation from the Golden Horde rule. At first, visit the village of Monastyrshchino (Монастырщино) where the first museum was organized in 1996. Follow the sign КУЛИКОВО ПОЛЕ.

Prince of Moscow Dmitry Donskoy.

In front of the statue is an alley of memorial stones commemorating fallen worriers from all Russian principalities.

To the memory of warriors from Pskov and Polotsk principalities who died in the Kulikovo battle.

Next stop is 10 km south of Monastyrshchino at the Krasny Kholm Memorial. A memorial column was erected here in 1850 in honor of the 1380 victory over the Golden Horde. In 1917 a church was built nearby.

Krasny Kholm literally means "red hill". Khan Mamai allegedly had his headquarters stationed here at the time of the Kulikovo Battle. Besides the column visitors can examine the bronze schematic of the battle. Please note that the Golden Horde army employed mercenaries - heavily armed Genoa infantry.

The Genoa infantry.

Russian soldiers.

Khan Mamai.


In 2016 a new state-of-the-art museum was opened 2 km before the Red Hill memorial.



The 1941-42 battle of Moscow also involved Tula Oblast. Therefore , WWII memorials are also quite common here.





up