REGION BY REGION
(OBLAST BY OBLAST)

Nizhny Novgorod

Nizhny novgorod - Нижний новгород

The third largest city in Russia Nizhny Novgorod was founded in 1221. For many years the city was an important trade center. Nowadays it is a huge industrial center. During Soviet times the city was named Gorky (Горький) after the writer Maxim Gorky born here in 1868. The kremlin built in 1500-15 partially survived to our days. The kremlin stands on a high ground overlooking the confluence of the Volga and the Oka Rivers.


The stairs leading from the Volga River to the kremlin.

The stairs leading from the kremlin to the Volga River .


The kremlin walls.

Inside the kremlin there are administrative buildings, numerous monuments, display of WWII materiel, gardens and several churches.

The local parliament.

To the founders of Nizhny Novgorod: Prince George and Saint Simon.

Nizhny Novgorod is the place where merchant Kuzma Minin and Prince Dmitry Pozharsky rallied a people's army to resist the Polish intervention in 1612. Both Minin and Pozharsky are commemorated in a monument in Red Square in Moscow in front of the Saint Basil Cathedral. In Nizhny Novgorod kremlin both national heroes has a dedicated obelisk with a gilded bas-relief. The obelisk was opened in 1828.

The obelisk dedicated to Minin and Pozharsky.


The 1628 Archangel Michael Church.


Close to the kremlin there are monuments to the two outstanding Russian pilots. One is Peter Nesterov, an aerobatics pioneer. In August 1913 he performed a loop in the air. This flight maneuver is still called the Nesterov or the dead loop.  The second one is Valery Chkalov. In 1938 his aircraft  took off in Moscow and 63 hours later landed in Vancouver having flown over the North Pole. You can see a similar monument to Chkalov in Orenburg.

Nesterov performed his dead loop flying a Nieuport IV monoplane.


The statue of Valery Chkalov stands next to the kremlin wall.

The 1881 Alexander Nevsky Cathedral as seen from the kremlin.

The 1882 John the Baptist Church and Alexander Nevsky Cathedral.


The 1719 Nativity Church.

Streetscapes of Nizhny Novgorod.

Nizhny Novgorod is a center of the Russian automobile building industry. GAZ-20 "Pobeda" a hit of the 1950-s.


makarievo - макарьево

Makarievo is a village 100 km east of Nizhny Novgorod on the Volga River. The village is home of the 1453 Makariev Monastery. The buildings and walls we see today were built in 1651-67. Currently the Makariev Monastery is a convent. About 30 nuns live, work and pray here. The monastery and the village thrived on vibrant river trade through the 17-18th century. The famous Makariev Fair took place every summer under the walls of the monastery for more than two centuries. By 1800, there were over three thousand warehouses near the monastery to keep goods worth millions of rubles . In 1816, a huge fire destroyed most of the buildings and those millions were lost. In 1817, the fair moved to Nizhny Novgorod.

The monastery looks especially spectacular if viewed from the river.

The village is quiet and sleepy.

Old fashion way to rinse laundry is still practiced in the village of Makarievo.

arzamas - арзамас

Located 130 km south of Nizhny Novgorod Arzamas was founded in 1572. The town is rich in history, has many impressive churches. The main square is dominated by the 1842 Resurrection Cathedral.


The 1784 golden domed Annunciation Cathedral.

The 1580 Saint Nicholas Convent (white on the right).

The 1794 Church of Life-Giving Spring.


diveyevo - дивеево

The village of Diveyevo is 60 km south-west of Arzamas. It is home of the 1861 Saint Seraphim Convent. The convent is the second largest pilgrimage center for followers of the Russian Orthodox Church. Worshippers and tourists are flocking Diveyevo all the year round. Worshippers come to touch and kiss the remains of Saint Seraphim of Sarov (aka Seraphim Sarovsky) while tourists enjoy taking pictures of the photogenic cathedrals and scenes of monastic life.

The 1875 Trinity Cathedral houses the relics of Saint Seraphim of Sarov.

Golden decorations of the Trinity Cathedral.


The 1916 Transfiguration Cathedral.

The 2012 Annunciation Cathedral.



The 19th century Alexander Nevsky Church.

The 1780 Our Lady of Kazan Church.

The Convent is believed to be one of four earthly appanages (real estates) of Mother Mary which she invisibly visits every evening. Allegedly, Our Lady appeared to Seraphim Sarovsky back on November 25, 1825 and ordered him to build a circular trail which she would walk when coming down to earth. The trail is used for religious processions on various occasions.

Processions end at the Trinity Cathedral.


Worshippers are supposed to slowly walk the trail reading gospels and saying prayers.

Pilgrims.

Nuns.

There is a small graveyard in the convent.

bolshoye boldino - большое болдино

Russian poet #1 Alexander Pushkin (1799 - 1837) spent quite a time in his family estate in 1830-s and wrote here several poems, many verses, short and long stories. The Pushkins' estate is now a museum. The park laid around the house calls for a pleasant walk.

The 1791 Assumption Church.

The wooden Archangel Michael Church was built in 1999 to the original 1621 design.



Young Pushkin and his nanny Arina who implanted the boy a love for Russian fairytales.


Somewhere in Nizhny Novgorod Oblast.


 

up